About Ayurveda

Seven Dhatus or Tissues

In Ayurveda, the human body is composed of seven primary tissues or dhatus. These dhatus are responsible for the nourishment, growth, and maintenance of the body. Each dhatu has its specific functions and contributes to overall health. The seven dhatus are:

  1. Rasa Dhatu (Plasma): Rasa represents the plasma or the fluid part of the blood. It nourishes the body and provides the foundation for the formation of other dhatus.
  2. Rakta Dhatu (Blood): Rakta refers to the blood. It carries oxygen, nutrients, and hormones to various parts of the body and removes waste products. It also plays a vital role in the body’s defense mechanisms.
  3. Mamsa Dhatu (Muscle): Mamsa signifies the muscles of the body. It provides strength, structure, and support to the body. Mamsa dhatu is responsible for the proper functioning of muscles and their growth.
  4. Meda Dhatu (Fat): Meda represents the adipose tissue or fat. It provides insulation, energy storage, and cushioning to the body. Meda dhatu also plays a role in maintaining body temperature.
  5. Asthi Dhatu (Bone): Asthi refers to the bones and teeth. It provides structure, support, and protection to the body. Asthi dhatu is responsible for bone formation, mineralization, and maintaining bone health.
  6. Majja Dhatu (Marrow and Nervous Tissue): Majja represents the bone marrow and the nervous tissue. It plays a crucial role in blood cell formation, nourishing the nervous system, and maintaining overall vitality.
  7. Shukra Dhatu (Reproductive Tissue): Shukra refers to the reproductive tissues, including semen in males and ovum in females. It is responsible for fertility, reproductive functions, and the overall vitality of an individual.

According to Ayurveda, the health and balance of these seven dhatus are essential for overall well-being. Imbalances or disorders in any of the dhatus can lead to various health issues, and Ayurvedic treatments aim to restore the balance and functioning of these tissues.

Coming Soon!!